Tags

, , , , , ,

Disney Magic, originally uploaded by The Lady of the Lens.

When it comes to taking photos, nothing gets me as excited as photographing fireworks. There’s something magical about the feeling of capturing something truly fleeting. Not to mention the anticipation of seeing the photos for the first time as soon as the show ends.

With my camera on a tripod I would fidget and adjust the camera’s settings. I pray to the Photography Gods that I don’t overlook anything. I fervently hope that I don’t mess up. Then the show would begin. While pressing my shutter as fast and as synchronized (with the fireworks) as I could, I would make sure that my camera doesn’t shake. And when the show ends, I sigh in relief.

Depending on the length of the show, I would sometimes walk away with 100 shots or more (this includes the test shots); and like opening presents on Christmas morning, I would excitedly check each shot, mentally patting myself on the back for a job well done (or kicking myself in the head for botching up the whole thing).

But in the end, you realize that the goal is not taking the photo, it’s improving yourself and your technique each time you step behind the lens. And there, dear friends, is where the magic really lives on.